IR Interview: Bill Irwin (“TARS”) For “Interstellar” [BD-Paramount Home Entertainment] – Part II

Gang Of Four performing Live on JBTV Music Television Friday March 13th 2015 10:00 AM Pacific 12:00 PM Central 1:00 PM Eastern

LIVE Event Showtime Friday March 13th:
10:00 AM Pacific US
12:00 PM Central US
1:00 PM Eastern US
17:00 London
18:00 Paris/Berlin
20:00 Moscow

Welcome UK’s legendary post-punk GANG OF FOUR to Chicago to play live at JBTV Studios. JBTV is excited to have this historic band as guests to support their new album What Happens Next. This is the first album without vocalist Jon King, What Happens Next refers to both the outside world and the band itself: an emphatic commitment to the future. “The focus is more on universal issues, like how individuals behave in certain ways or how our world is constructed, than local issues or current affairs,” says founding guitarist and songwriter Andy Gill. “Gang of Four is anything but parochial.” When King left the project, a reinvigorated Gill seized the opportunity to re-imagine Gang of Four from the ground up. The new album is an unexpected twist that still operates as the next logical step for the legendary post-punk band.

Sandwiched between Joy Division’s landmark album Unknown Pleasures and Led Zepellin’s iconic IV, Gang of Four’s debut Entertainment! sits at #8 on Pitchfork’s Top 100 of the 1970s, proclaiming it “caustic and bursting with disgust for unethical capitalism, opportunist politicians and consumer society, among other things, but it’s also crafted with amazing pop sensibility – and is, of course, remarkably danceable.” Earlier this year, that same album was found on Kurt Cobain’s handwritten list of favorite albums. Echoing the singular importance of the band’s impact on music, Rage Against the Machine’s Tom Morello told Rolling Stone this past July 2014 that “there’s no one more influential on my guitar playing than Andy Gill.” Having been named a massive influence by many artists including Bloc Party, R.E.M., The Red Hot Chili Peppers, Nine Inch Nails, The Rapture, Franz Ferdinand and LCD Soundsystem, among hundreds of others, Gang of Four’s legacy continues not by being frozen in a moment in time, but by constant evolution while remaining true to the original spirit of the band.

▶ This is JBTV Music

Hey Everyone!

We are totally excited to share with you JBTV Music Television now on SirkTV!

We will be posting tons of fresh music from the bands you love and the bands you don’t even know you love yet!

Enjoy!

Brandon, Kristine and the SirkTV Team

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,653 other followers

%d bloggers like this: